Volumio vs other distribution

Few months ago I installed the latest version of volume V3. I was really pleased about the sound quality compare to the V2.
I made a subscription to open the full features.
even the sound quality is good, I think there’s still a kind of “Fog”, the stage is not very clean and voices not natural.
Recently I install the latest version of GENTOOPLAYER, this is a totally different philosophy, but the sound quality is at a real another level. A great open stage, the voices more natural, instruments more realistic.
Cons is for who need a display : There’s no display support with this minimal distribution.
Pos : ALL of the distribution dev is sound quality only oriented.
My system : RPI4 + gentooplayer+ squeezelite-R2+LMS(running on a Mancini server)+USB DAC Musician Pegasus + 2xQUAD606MKII reworked+Quad Pre99 + KEF 203/1

1 Like

Do you perceive “fog” in Volumio while Gentooplayer seems “at a real another level” to you?
I’m not an expert, but can there really be such a clear difference?
Volumio qaulity seems extraordinary to me; I don’t hear any “fog,” and the timbre of voice and instruments is absolutely natural.

2 Likes

Volumio V3 is as really very good distribution, producing a very confortable sound environment.
To make some test on my components, I’m using few reference albums for these good reasons : Bernard Lavilliers “Voleur de Feu” : at this time I was sound engineer, and I was present in the recording studio whined they made the mix of this album. The voice of the artist has something particular, very tight and clean in “midnight shadows” title.
Francis Cabrel “Sarbacane” : I was in the recording studio and got the privilege to hear the master tape, I also personally know the bassist Bernard Paganotti and his famous bass touch.
I also make the tests using jazz and classical music.
until now, only gentooplayer give me back the “studio sound” I can remember.