USB Volume too low

I’ve been using Volumio feeding an OPPO 105D by USB for a few years and it worked well.

I recently got an Emotiva XDA-3 and I connected the Volumio to it by USB and even with the volume set to 100% in the playback options, the volume needed on my amplifier is nearly full volume. For the headphones amp it is at full volume and is still not loud.

By comparison the audio signal coming in through an Optical input is much higher and doesn’t need anywhere near that high a volume.

I’ve tried all kinds of Playback settings and haven’t found a way to improve the volume I’m getting. I’m not sure if the issue is with the XDA-3 or I’m missing a setting.

Did/do both units feed the same preamp/amp? If yes, might be an issue with the Emotiva XDA-3.

Both models have similar output: 2.1 Vrms (OPPO) vs 2.0 Vrms (Emotiva), unless you were using balanced-out on the OPPO (output = 4.2 Vrms).
I looked out of curiosity, seems the Emotiva website and user manual for the XDA-3 lack specs on the headphone amp, which is odd.

Here’s some info on Vrms-matching between DAC-amp:

DAC Vrms

For the headphone amp volume, I’d read up on the model or contact Emotiva for more info.

I returned the XDA-3. It had a 30 day money back.

My Oppo 105D was working well as a pre-amp for my XPA2 Gen 2 driving Martin Logan Ethos speakers. I was using the XLR outputs of the OPPO even though it’s technically not balanced.

The irony was that the XDA-3 actually did the opposite of what I was expecting. I was thinking that it would have a better matched gain because it was an Emotiva DAC preamp, but the opposite was true.

In addition it has a PAINFULLY slow volume control. It’s seriously awful. When you combine the fact I had to completely max out the volume when running Volumio to get anywhere near decent volume, it was a problem.