Tuning baby ! ... I need advise from you ol' audio geeks

This is about how to make my system better. I know it’s possibly an endless discussion, but I thought its still worth starting it… and I would be grateful for some good advise. :wink:

I must admit I’m an extreme computer audio newbie. It was Raspyfi/Volumio, which made me venture into computer audio, so I started cautious with Volumio+Raspy and the HifiMeDIY async DAC (ES Sabre 9023), which now feed into the line-in of my Yamaha AX396 Receiver (yes, I know this is old stuff). Because my phone charger didn’t had enough power, I am currently using a USB hub which I bought about 10 years ago and which has a separate power supply. The hub thus connects grid, hard drive, raspy power line in and raspy data USB. The DAC occupies the other USB slot of the raspy. Things work well, and I was happy, but then I made a direct comparison:

FLAC read by Volumio and feed through the DAC into my amp
vs.
The CD from which I obtained the FLAC, played by my 10 years old Yamaha CDX396.

Sorry, but the CD Player won by far.
So what should I do to improve the Volumio System? My aim was to finally abandon my CD collection, but up to now, this is not gonna happen as long as there is a clear and audible quality difference. Take this as the benchmark, what would you suggest as the most economic way to reach it?

Keen on reading your answers,
stereofromlate90ies

Are you using this hifimediy.com/index.php?route=pr … uct_id=123 ?
USB DAC is not the best thing for RasPi, try i2s DAC like hifiBerry or DIYINHK ES9023, both are excellent i2s DAC.

Also consider separating the power rail for the DAC using a very good regulated dedicated power supply or battery. There are many discussion saying dedicated good power supply to the DAC can improve the sonic performance.

Thanks for the answer!