Quality of life feature requests

Dear Volumio developers,

I’m a premium user of your Primo device, and I really enjoy using it! I’ve been using it daily for the past year, and during this time, I’ve come across some annoyances that I hope you will consider addressing to enhance the user experience. While I’m not a developer, I wanted to share these requests, recognizing that you receive many feature requests regularly.

1. Improved Navigation:

• The one thing that have taken me the longest time to get used to (and some times I still get it wrong), is the navigation. The Home (house) button doesn’t take you back to the start; you need to press ‘x’ for that purpose. Additionally, the ‘physical’ back button doesn’t function as expected in a browser or on a phone.

• It would be helpful if the volume control were always visible rather than hidden behind the speaker icon.

• The placement of the close ‘x’ changes from right to left when navigating music sources and pushing ‘the three horisontal lines’, which can be confusing. Consistency in this regard would streamline the user experience.

• The unofficial Android app VolumioControl offers a more straightforward and standard navigation approach that could serve as inspiration, at least from my point of view.

2. Official App Enhancements:

• Faster startup times for the official app would be greatly appreciated. Additionally, having an option to select a default Volumio device would be convenient.
  3. Local Music View:

• A feature to display recently added albums in a local music view would be a valuable addition.
  4. Replaygain:

• I can see it has been requested before, but an option to enable replaygain would be appreciated.
  5. Artist and Album Name Clickable in ‘Now Playing’:

• It would be convenient if clicking on the artist’s name in the ‘now playing’ view could take you directly to the artist’s or albums page.
  6. Special Characters in Search: