Can't write to mounted usb drive over network (SMB-Share)

Hello Everyone,

i am new to Volumio and have an issue with the maintenance of my Music library!

My Volumio (Version 2.413 on RasPI) runs perfectly fine, except i am not able to write or delete files on the drive my Music is on.
Therefore i am unable to update my library with new songs from my Windows PC over the network
Sidenote: i already copied the files to the drive (NTFS btw.) directly from my Windows PC before connecting it to the RasPI

It is an external USB Drive with one TB capacity (it is the drive sda2)
It (sda2) is mounted properly and i can find it under /media/music, so far so good

Now:
It is owned by “root” and i therefore have no permission to write or delete any files when i try to access the Folder from Windows (smb share)
I tried to “sudo chown” the directory to the user:group volumiovolumio --> operation not permitted (not even as root over local console on the RasPi.
Trying to change it to nobody:nogroup didn’t work as well
Same sad story for trying chmod to 666 as root --> it does not change permissions and no error message…

What can i do?
Anything related to samba (smb.conf)?
Anything relate to how the drive is being mounted?

Many thanks in advance for your help

PS: just in case someone wonders - i did search the forum before posting, but i did not find a solution :frowning: - Sorry guys

Kind regards
Giorgio

NTFS is only read only under Raspbian (on which Volumio is based). You will need to install extra drivers if you want to use this file format (ntfs-3g I think, but Google it to check).

OMG!!!

Many thanks for your quick answer!
I did not know this :open_mouth:

What would be a good file System to Format the drive with?

ext3?
ext4?

Many thx in advance
Giorgio

Hi

it’s me again :smiley:

I just found out, that the latest Version of ntfs-3g is already installed on my RasPI

I googled the instructions how to mount the drive with this Driver:

sudo ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /mnt/usb